• slider0.png
  • slider1.png
  • slider2.png
  • slider3.png

Awards & Grants



In 1944, members decided to take a definite step in contributing more specifically to the cultural life of the community. A Scholarship was proposed to assist talented young Australians in the various arts of Music, Painting, Drawing, Architecture, Sculpture, Literature.


In recent years, The Savage Club has continued this tradition by sponsoring a number of awards in the annual Sydney Eisteddfod. Commencing 2017, we will be selecting recipients of our Awards via a public competition, with independant adjudicators.


The recipients of our 2017 Awards were selected at a public competition held at The Opera Centre, 480 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, on 1st April 2017. The adjudicators were Cheryl Barker AO and John Pringle AM. 1st Prize of $6000 was awarded to Hannah Greenshields, soprano. 2nd Prize of $4000 was awarded to Imogen-Faith Malfitano, soprano. Three Encouragements Awards of $750 each were awarded to Sarah Ampil, soprano, Barbara Jin, mezzo-soprano and Camilla Wright, soprano. All five finalists presented a marvellous musical program for members and friends at our luncheon at the Roseville Golf Club on Sunday 30th April 2017. A "People's Prize" of $1000 was awarded to Imogen-Faith Malfitano. Our congratulations to all recipients.  


The Club has had many notable recipients over the years, including Richard Bonynge AC CBE, Geoffrey Chard AM, June Gough (Bronhill), Donald Hazelwood AO OBE and Bernadette Cullen.


In addition, it provides awards and grants to assist young performers to further their studies towards a professional career. We continue to consider applications which we fund via donations and bequests from members of The Savage Club, as well as interested friends and members of the wider community. 


© Copyright Sydney Savage Club